You are here: Home | Bike Loans

Bike Loans


Borrow one of our bikes for free

We offer a free way for you to see if cycling is for you: We loan out both pedal bikes and electric bikes for free to the people of Rotherham for between one and three months.

When you borrow one of our bikes you are also given all the typical accessories you need including a helmet, bag, bike lock and lights. We maintain your loan bike for you as long as you have it, and also offer you free cycle training if you would like to improve your confidence and skills.

At the end of your loan period you just have to return the bike and accessories to us. 

Please note, due to an increase in the number of bikes stolen this year we will now be taking a deposit of £100 before loaning out electric bikes. The deposit will be returned in full on return of the bike, and has been brought about as a means to discourage theft which jeopardises the future of the scheme.

You can apply online here ...

Apply for a regular bike                        Apply for an electric bike

... or you can apply in person at the Journey Matters Hub at any one of the following events:


October 2018

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 25th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

November 2018

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 1st Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Sat 3rd Nov Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 8th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 15th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 22nd Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 29th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session

December 2018

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 6th Dec Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 13th Dec Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 20th Dec Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session

January 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 3rd Jan Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 10th Jan Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 17th Jan Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 24th Jan Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 31st Jan Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session

February 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 7th Feb Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 14th Feb Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 21st Feb Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 28th Feb Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session