You are here: Home | Bike Loans

Bike Loans


Borrow one of our bikes for free

We offer a free way for you to see if cycling is for you: We loan out both pedal bikes and electric bikes for free to the people of Rotherham for between one and three months.

When you borrow one of our bikes you are also given all the typical accessories you need including a helmet, bag, bike lock and lights. We maintain your loan bike for you as long as you have it, and also offer you free cycle training if you would like to improve your confidence and skills.

At the end of your loan period you just have to return the bike and accessories to us. 

Please note, due to an increase in the number of bikes stolen this year we will now be taking a deposit of £100 before loaning out electric bikes. The deposit will be returned in full on return of the bike, and has been brought about as a means to discourage theft which jeopardises the future of the scheme.

You can apply online here ...

Apply for a regular bike                        Apply for an electric bike

... or you can apply in person at the Journey Matters Hub at any one of the following events:


August 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Wed 14th Aug Thetfords 9:30am-2:30pm Business session
Thur 15th Aug Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 18th Aug Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 20th Aug G4S 11am-4pm Business session
Wed 21st Aug Ferham Festival 11am-3pm Public session
Thur 22nd Aug Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 27th Aug AMP 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 28th Aug Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 29th Aug Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

September 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Tues 3rd Sept Webhelp 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 4th Sept Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 5th Sept Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 7th Sept Rotherham Show 10am-5pm Public session
Sun 8th Sept Rotherham Show 10am-5pm Public session
Fri 13th Sept Wales High School tbc-tbc Public session
Sun 15th Sept Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 19th Sept Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 24th Sept RBS 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 25th Sept Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 26th Sept Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

October 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Tues 1st Oct Toyoda Gosei 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 2nd Oct Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 3rd Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 5th Oct Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 8th Oct Next Pallet 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 9th Oct Next Boxed 10am-3pm Business session
Thur 10th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Wed 16th Oct UCR 12pm-3pm Business session
Thur 17th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 20th Oct Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 24th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 31st Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

November 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Sat 2nd Nov Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 7th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 14th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 21st Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session
Thur 28th Nov Riverside House 9am-1pm Public session