You are here: Home | Bike Loans

Bike Loans


Borrow one of our bikes for free

We offer a completely free way for you to see if cycling is for you: We loan out both pedal bikes and electric bikes for free to the people of Rotherham for between one and three months.

When you borrow one of our bikes you are also given all the typical accessories you need including a helmet, bag, bike lock and lights. We maintain your loan bike for you as long as you have it, ;and also offer you free cycle training if you would like to improve your confidence and skills.

At the end of your loan period you just have to return the bike and accessories to us. If you want to keep cycling we may be able to help you purchase a bike of your own.

You can apply online here ...

Apply for a regular bike                        Apply for an electric bike

... or you can apply in person at the Journey Matters Hub at any one of the following events:


Date Location Session hours Session type
Sat 23rd September St Margaret's Scarecrow Festival, Swinton 1pm-5pm Public session
Tue 26th September Maltby Leisure and Services Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Wed 27th September Meadowhall 10am-4pm Public session
Thu 28th September Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 8am-2pm Public session
Wed 4th October Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thu 5th October Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 7th October Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Sun 8th October Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 10th October Capita House 10am-4pm Employees only
Thu 12th October Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 8am-2pm Public session
Tue 17th October Toyoda Gosei 10am-4pm Employees only
Thu 19th October Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 8am-2pm Public session
Tue 24th October Meadowhall 10am-4pm Public session
Wed 25th October Maltby Leisure and Services Centr 10am-4pm Public session
Thu 26th October Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 8am-2pm Public session
Thu 2nd November Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Sat 4th November Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Thu 9th November Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Sun 12th November Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Thu 16th November Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Thu 23rd November Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Thu 30th November Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Thu 7th December Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session
Thu 14th December Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham 10am-1pm Public session