You are here: Home | Bike Loans

Bike Loans


Borrow one of our bikes for free

We offer a free way for you to see if cycling is for you: We loan out both pedal bikes and electric bikes for free to the people of Rotherham for between one and three months.

When you borrow one of our bikes you are also given all the typical accessories you need including a helmet, bag, bike lock and lights. We maintain your loan bike for you as long as you have it, and also offer you free cycle training if you would like to improve your confidence and skills.

At the end of your loan period you just have to return the bike and accessories to us. 

Please note, due to an increase in the number of bikes stolen this year we will now be taking a deposit of £100 before loaning out electric bikes. The deposit will be returned in full on return of the bike, and has been brought about as a means to discourage theft which jeopardises the future of the scheme.

You can apply online here ...

Apply for a regular bike                        Apply for an electric bike

... or you can apply in person at the Journey Matters Hub at any one of the following events:


June 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Sun 16th June Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 18th June Clipper Logisitics 11am-3pm Business session
Wed 19th June Webhelp 10am-3pm Business session
Thur 20th June Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 25th June AMP 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 26th June Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 27th June Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

July 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Tuesday 2nd July Centrica 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 3rd July Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 4th July Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 6th July Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Tues 9th July RBS 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 10th July Stagecoach 10am-3pm Business session
Thur 11th July Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 14th July Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Tues 16th July Bluetree 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 17th July Bluetree 10am-3pm Business session
Thur 18th July Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 23rd July SYP Maltby 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 24th July Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 25th July Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 30th July Renewi 11am-4pm Business session
Weds 31st July Asda 10am-3pm Business session

August 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Thur 1st August Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 3rd August Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 6th August Rolls Royce 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 7th August Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 8th August Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 13th August Robert Dyson House 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 14th August Thetfords 9:30am-2:30pm Business session
Thur 15th August Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 18th August Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 20th August G4S 11am-4pm Business session
Thur 22nd August Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Wed 28th August Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 29th August Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

September 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Tues 3rd September Webhelp 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 4th September Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 5th September Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 15th September Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 19th September Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Tues 24th September RBS 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 25th September Maltby Leisure Centre 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 26th September Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session

October 2019

Date Location Session hours Session type
Tues 1st Oct Toyoda Gosei 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 2nd Oct Rotherham Hospital 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 3rd Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sat 5th Oct Clifton Park 10am-4pm Public session
Tue 8th Oct Next Pallet 10am-3pm Business session
Wed 9th Oct Next Boxed 10am-3pm Business session
Thur 10th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Wed 16th Oct UCR 12pm-3pm Business session
Thur 17th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Sun 20th Oct Old Moor 10am-4pm Public session
Thur 24th Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session
Thur 31st Oct Riverside House 8am-2pm Public session